on your way to lala land

a place where anything and everything goes

do you have an “acceptable profession”

Leave a comment

There are many professions I chose to be when I grew up. A teacher, a ballet dancer and even a marine biologist (love shark week!). Being a teacher, professional athlete or nurse are typical childhood dreams of what we want to be. No one usually goes through life saying “I want to be the manager at Burger King” or “I want to be a Debt Collector for a large collection company”. No. These are not typical childhood dreams. I would even say these are not seen as typical “Acceptable Professions”. When you hear about someone working for a bank or a hospital, you think, “Wow, they must have a nice job.” You see this person in your mind as being professional and well put together. When you hear about someone working at Burger King, you may think “Wow, where did they step of the beaten path? They must live with their parents still.” Even though these may be first reactions, they are not the correct ones. I must say I am guilty of judging people by what they do. But I have learned to tell myself, someone has to do it. When I walk in to order my burger, don’t I expect someone to be there to take my order? When I take my car to be washed, don’t I expect someone to wash it? We judge others on what they do, but we expect someone to do it. Do we just not want to know the person doing it? Would we prefer them to stay anonymous? Why do we feel the need to judge someone for what they do instead of who they are?
I am not sure I have a great answer or an ending for this blog. This is just something that I have been pondering for awhile now. I’d like to say that you shouldn’t allow others thinking to sway how you feel about what you do or love. But that can be the nature of the beast. Do you feel the need to have an “acceptable profession”?
Author: onyourwaytolalaland

Children, Love, Family and Dance. Blogging, for me, is an outlet that doesn't require consistency. Thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

